Sovereign Coins Mint Marks

Coin mint marks date back to some of the earliest coins ever made.
Identifying the mint marks on Sovereign coins can be a little tricky as they are
very small, however once you know where to look and what to look for it becomes
a fairly easy task. From 1871 Sovereign coins continued to be struck in London
and they were also struck at additional mints.

As a rule the mint marks can be found on the ground just above the date on
the Jubilee and old head Sovereigns. As well as the Edward and George V coins.
On the Victoria young head where the coins have the St George on the reverse the
date also appears on the reverse. The mint mark can be found on the obverse just
under the portrait. There isn’t a mint mark on coins stuck in London.

Sydney Australia Branch (1817-1926) 
Mintmark ( S )

The first branch to stick Gold Sovereigns was the Australia mint in Sydney.
As a lot of gold was been mined in Sydney at this time it made sense to make
Sovereigns close to the source. This saved valuable time and money shipping the
gold back to Britain to make the coins and then possibly having to transport
them back again.

Melbourne Branch (1872-1931)  Mintmark ( M )

Perth Branch (1899-1931)  Mintmark ( P )

Ottawa Canada (1908-1919)  Mintmark ( C )

Sovereigns were only struck at the Canadian mint in Ottawa for 10 years.
Opening in January 1908 only 646 Sovereigns were struck in the first year making
these very rare. The 1916 coin is also very rare as it is believed that a lot of
these were melted down. All of the Canada Sovereigns are hard to find making
them very collectable. The Royal Canadian Mint is still operating today and
earned its Royal status in 1969.

Bombay India Branch ( 1918 Only ) Mintmark ( I )

The Indian branch in Bombay only minted Sovereigns for one year in 1918.

Pretoria South Africa ( 1923-1932 ) Mintmark ( SA )